The province of Tehran is bounded on the north by the Alborz Mountains and on the south by the plain and plateau of Iran. The capital of a populated country and city where various ethnicities live. History Tehran’s history is intertwined with Ray. Tehran was a small village north of Rey; centuries ago it was a large city with political, religious, and commercial centers. Tehran has been an immigrant city for many years. Persians, Azeris, Mazenes, Kurds, Gilkites and other ethnicities from all over the country make up the inhabitants of Tehran province has 16 cities including Tehran, Shahriar, Islamshahr, Baharestan, Millard, Pakdasht, Ray, Ghods, Robat Karim, Varamin, Qarchak, Pardis, Damavand, Pishva, Shemiranat, and Firoozkooh. Tehran was chosen as the capital during the Qajar era and was for a short time the capital of the Zandiyah dynasty.